Forgot username/password?

International Phycological Society

The Society was founded in 1960 and is incorporated in the State of Califormia as a Nonprofit Public Benefit Corporation with Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws designed to protect its nonprofit status. 

The Society is dedicated to:

  • The development of phycology; 
  • The distribution of phycological information; and,
  • International cooperation among phycologists and phycological organizations. 

The Society organizes the International Phycological Congresses at 4-yearly intervals.

It is administed by a Board of elected members, chaired by a President, who is appointed by the Board. 

Membership is open to all those interested in Phycology and the journal is distributed to members at a much-reduced rate.

The Society awards a number of prizes in memory of prominent members (Papenfuss Award and Christensen Prize).